Challenge day 5: Friday finish line

PuppetChallenge

A friend of mine stated categorically the reason why Londoners dine at chain food palaces. The low-key caffs, sandwich bars and restaurants offer such bad quality food – and in some ways he’s right. We eat at chains because we’re scared of what’s gonna end up on our tables. Sure, there’s plenty of good – great – food in London but it costs an arm and a leg and I’ve only got two sets of those! What am I gonna do for the rest of the time?

Fear. It’s a simple word but it really sums up the high street. People fear the unknown. And chain stores/restaurants/cafes feed on this fear. They provide mountains of known quantities that sate our expectations. Not only this, they offer everything at a reasonable price. No wonder we’re sold!

Viet Pho on Greek Street, Soho

Viet Pho on Greek Street, Soho

As I waited for my take away, I had a moment where I thought, 'Why don't I stay?' The thought passed. How much more satisfying is it to eat my lunch at my desk, shifting round the pens, paper and keyboard, struggling to find a decent amount of space on which to mulch.

As I waited for my take away, I had a moment where I thought, ‘Why don’t I stay?’ The thought passed. How much more satisfying is it to eat my lunch at my desk, shifting round the pens, paper and keyboard, struggling to find a decent amount of space on which to mulch.

Where? Viet Pho in Soho (quite poetical really)

When? 12.30.

What? Vietnamese and Thai. Unlike what I did, please eat in rather than out. With a view of the kitchen, it just adds to that instant, straight out of South-East Asia feel.

Fit for a puppet? My red thai curry was very ordinary. Should’ve eaten Vietnamese instead. Note to myself, always eat from the named destination. Like, you don’t go to an Italian restaurant and ask for Greek.

Chain-free success? I think so. Not entirely sure. Can someone back me up on this?

My lunch

My lunch

Leave a Reply

